Can I get on a waiting list??

4 Jan

Ladies and Gentlemen, I just had a freak out. (A good one!)

When I was young (as opposed to my current very old state) I did A LOT of reading. It was my favorite. It still is. But one series of books had a very lasting impression on me. They left me itching to form clubs, hold meetings, write bylaws, start my own business with nothing but a dream and an oversized plaid shirt and denim overalls.

One wonders now, as I sit amongst print outs and guides from the Small Business Association, why Ann M. Martin never chronicled Kristy and Mary Anne’s decision on whether or not to incorporate.

That’s right. I’m talking about the Babysitters Club. Life altering, endlessly entertaining literature that left me with a huge appreciate for friendship, entrepreneurship, and the wacky results of combining the two. (This is all wildly ironic to me. Kate – my childhood BFF and fellow blogger – have a Thursday evening date to discuss a joint business proposal. She was a Babysitters Club fan too – I don’t think it’s a coincidence.)

Anyway – the point of all my BSC blabbing…I just read on CNN that Ann M. Martin is writing a prequel to the series!! Here’s hoping that the new book helps Kristi, Mary Ann, Claudia (oh my gosh she was so cool) and Stacey win over the hearts of another generation of girls.

(And encourages them to develop friendships and businesses and build their ideas rather than encouraging them to find boyfriends who are vampires.)

You can bet my name will be at the top of the pre-order list.

6 Responses to “Can I get on a waiting list??”

  1. klmphotos January 5, 2010 at 1:19 am #

    Oh man… they were the best!!!

    Well Claudia was my favorite. Remember the movie! We should have a girls-only sleepover where we eat lots of cookies, popcorn, drink hot chocolate and watch that movie!

    please, please, please!

    • maggieandzac January 5, 2010 at 2:50 am #

      If there’s Baileys in the hot chocolate, I’m there!!

  2. klmphotos January 6, 2010 at 12:37 am #

    Yes ‘mam! Pour it on in! Although that may be the only type of liqour missing from my cabinet! Go figure…

  3. April January 6, 2010 at 2:04 am #

    I loved those books! In fact – I even tried to start a babysitter’s club in 5th grade with 3 of my friends …we were going to call it the “Super Sitter Service.” I even created a special day planner for the business and decorated it with shiny stickers. But then my mom crushed my dream and told me it was an unrealistic business proposal…and she wouldn’t let me start it.

    …Claudia was definitely the coolest.

  4. klmphotos January 6, 2010 at 2:38 am #

    April – you can come to the sleepover too! Only true Babysitter’s Club fans. I think we need some sort of screening-tool. You know, trivia questions or something to determine who are true fans…you’d pass though! The Claudia comment says it all.

  5. mom January 7, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

    well at least i dont have to host the sleepovers this time!!! cheers to the next generation of babysitter clubbers!!! i saved those books for your kids!!!

Leave a Reply

