Late Nite TV at its finest

12 Feb

I love David Letterman! And on the nights that I am able to stay awake late enough to watch the whole show, I am rarely disappointed.

Last week, just a day or so after former Governor Rod Blagojevich was impeached he appeared as a guest on the show. We watched in horror. It seemed to be the strangest, most awkward late night interview EVER.

Then out of nowhere, Joaquin Phoenix appears on Letterman last night and blows every other awkward interview out of the water. What the hell was that?? I’m a fan of Joaquin Phoenix, or at least I was. But this was difficult to watch. Has he sincerely lost his mind (presumably to drugs)? Or is this some sort of elaborate actor’s hoax?

Check out the video if you didn’t see it. If it’s for real – its sad. If it’s acting – its most impressive. Either way you’ll still laugh at Letterman’s punchesĀ  – my favorite being “How about I come to your house and chew gum.” I love it most when Letterman slams his guests. How hospitable.

So here’s the video:

Did you catch the Ferra Fawcet reference? I hadn’t seen this gem of interview until this morning – a newspaper website chronicled some of Letterman’s worst interviews and they are so amusing I had to share.

But my favorite awkward Letterman interview? Madonna. Circa 1994.

Aren’t you going to smell them? Oh. My. God.

I heart late night tv.

3 Responses to “Late Nite TV at its finest”

  1. Zac February 12, 2009 at 7:43 pm #

    I still can’t decide if the Joaquin Phoenix one is painful or funny. I can’t wait to get off work so I can watch these other ones!

  2. ERICA!!!!!! February 17, 2009 at 6:32 pm #

    i’m convinced it’s your publicist mind aching to claw his eyes out for that appalling excuse for an interview. at least, that’s how i justified those bitter thoughts…

    • maggieandzac February 17, 2009 at 7:13 pm #

      exactly. exactly! the whole time i was watching i was reeling. there is no way in hell that man has a publicist who would allow him to go on television in that condition if it was really some sort of drug-induced state. that’s what publicists are for… they are like…kate… they stop you from doing ridiculous things that you can’t un-do!

Leave a Reply

