Hello, Georgous.

6 Feb

Something new. Something blue. Something…on sale.

It started out innocently enough. A brief phone call that went like this…

“Have you bought Zac’s wedding band?”

“No. I probably should.”

“Well I got a flier about a jewerly store going out of business. We should check that out.”

“K.”

That was it. There was no malicious intent. None. The call was from my favorite former co-worker Jenny who recently jumped on the gettin’ hitched bandwagon. A plan evolved…cheap mexican food, brief trip to the mall, browse for the men’s wedding bands while there.

I can’t be certain but I think we went to the mall for shoes. We did not leave with shoes.

After nearly 2 hours of convincing each other that “They could be your something blue” and “you can pass them down to your future daughter” or my personal favorite “we don’t have children, we are supposed to spoil ourselves” we both left with our wedding day earrings.

Meet mine…

earrings

Holy Jesus. They are beyond words. Thank goodness for “court ordered liquidation.” Apparently, fine jewelry at cracker jack prices is the silver…er…white gold lining in these crummy economic times.

I also snagged the perfect wedding band for Zac! Two more things to check off my wedding to-do list.  And now when you see my “Somethings blue” shining from the alter…you’ll know exactly how I got my hands on them. I hope that gives you some sort of odd satisfaction : )

Probably, Jenny and I will no longer be able to go on unsupervised shopping trips. But it was way worth it.

8 Responses to “Hello, Georgous.”

  1. Zac February 6, 2009 at 4:56 am #

    They are BEAUTIFUL honey!! And the ring you picked out for me is perfect. I have to admit, you certainly have a way with jewelry! But you’re right…no more unsupervised shopping trips for a while!

  2. mom February 6, 2009 at 4:18 pm #

    oh my gosh they are beautiful!! im so proud of you… i so taught you how to buy beautiful jewelry!! your brust heritage is showing!! remember all the times i let you borrow my stuff??ummm……..

  3. Jenny February 7, 2009 at 1:04 am #

    First off….thank you for your persuasiveness, otherwise I would not be the proud owner of stunning amethyst and diamond earrings=)

    As I was filling up Suzy’s food bowl in nothing more than my pjs and new earrings that last night was THE BEST shopping trip I have ever been on. And the fact that it was a Thursday night after work made it even better!

  4. Doneida February 10, 2009 at 1:38 am #

    Your mom is right…those Brust’s know how to bargain shop!!! Mom got my wedding shoes for $3!!
    They are beautiful and worth the price-even if they weren’t on sale! Look at it this way…they are your Something New and Something Blue…in many years they will be your daughters Something Old and Something Blue!

  5. Kate February 10, 2009 at 3:44 pm #

    Holy cow! That’s all I have to say…those might be the most gorgeous earrings I’ve ever seen. Looks like a good shopping trip!

  6. ERICA!!!!!! February 10, 2009 at 10:23 pm #

    hello GORGEOUS!!! i love love love the earrings!!! do i still get to make your garter?? i promise i won’t make it cubby blue and red:):)

  7. Shelsey Kennedy February 24, 2009 at 7:29 pm #

    They will look perfect on you.

  8. Lyssa March 9, 2009 at 1:46 am #

    Those earrings are AMAZING!!!

Leave a Reply

